University of Central Florida 9 v Oklahoma City 39       University of Central Florida 28 v Wayland Baptist 12       University of Central Florida 12 v Grandview #2 24       The Apprentice School 50 v Towson State University 9       Rowan College at Gloucester County 27 v The Apprentice School 11       United States Naval Academy Prep 27 v The Apprentice School 21       Alfred State College 28 v Penn College 22       University of Delaware 40 v Widener University 9       Penn State - Mont Alto 33 v Widener University 12       Ted Reese Invitational       

UMBC wins Mid-East Conference Championship

03/04/2013 -

UMBC wrestling captured the Mid-East Conference Championship Saturday at the Penn College of Technology in Williamsport, Pa.

The victory was the first conference championship for the Retrievers in UMBC wrestling history. At the meet, UMBC qualified 12 wrestlers for the NCWA National Championships later this month in Dallas, Texas.

Second-place team honors went to Penn State-Dubois. The host team finished in third place.

For the Retrievers, Daniel Carr (Southern-Garrett / 149), Martin Mitchell (Laurel / 157) and Chris Urps (Chesapeake-AA / 197) won individual conference titles.

Carr's title was his second for UMBC. He joins John Lapoint (Glenelg) and NCWA National Champion Alex Broadwater (Catonsville) as UMBC wrestling's only two-time conference champs.

Alec Pence (Chopticon / 184) placed second in the conference; Sean Kellett (Shelton, Ct. / 125), Josh Weesner (North Caroline / 133), Kekura Musa (Blair / 141), Stephen Beam (Eastern Tech / 149) and Mike Munno (DeMatha / 174) took third; Curtis Taylor (South River / 165) and Mike Massarelli (Atholton / 235) were fifth; Ryan Bausch (Damascus / 141) finished sixth; and Stephen Omoyeni (Eleanor Roosevelt / 157) and Randy Huber (Perryville / 165) placed seventh.

With four pins during the event, Beam was honored with the "pinner" award, for scoring the most falls in the least time at the conference tournament.

UMBC head coach Luke Broadwater was named Conference Coach of the Year by a vote of the other coaches. It's the fourth time in eight years coach Broadwater has been named conference coach of the year.