Liberty University 37 v The Apprentice School 9       Middle Tennessee State University 26 v University of Central Florida 21       Grand Valley State University 41 v Marion Military Institute 14       Wayne State College 1 v University of North Florida 0       University of Toledo 27 v University of Florida 33       University of South Florida 18 v University of Texas at Arlington 45       University of North Texas 37 v University of Connecticut 15       University of Maryland / Baltimore County 30 v Texas A&M University 12       University of North Texas 39 v University of Maryland / Baltimore County 22       University of Connecticut 76 v Texas A&M University 56       

UW-Milwaukee Opens Season at Pointer Open

11/12/2006 -

November 11, 2006

– Stevens Point, WI

A young Panther squad tested its claws against the competition, in the opening meet of the UW-Milwaukee wrestling season. Several starters missed the Pointer Open due to injury, but the club brought eight wrestlers to the 19-team tournament. Five wrestlers competed in the Silver division, for first-year college wrestlers, including Tom Hansen, Alex Mor, Mike Huth, Dan Wesley, and Tanner Vanden Heuvel. The remaining club members competed in the Gold division, for those with previous college experience, including Nick Tadeo, who finished top 8 at last season’s NCWA Nationals, Darin Kwilinski, also an NCWA national qualifier, and Panther newcomer Jeremy Gee.

Competition was fierce. Although all 8 wrestlers wrestled well, overall the opposition was quicker on the attack, leaving the Panthers working defense most of the day. Alex Mor scored the first wins and the first pin of the season for the club, finishing just out of the top 6, losing to eventual placewinner Anthony Azarian. The Panthers will take motivation from today’s setback to the mats next weekend at the Concordia Open (Mequon, WI).

Complete results below.

-Submitted by Head Coach Rudy Ruiz

Pointer Open Results for UW-Milwaukee

Silver 125 - Tom Hansen
Champ. Round 1 - Aaron Hart (un) (UW-Madison) won by pin over Tom Hansen (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 1:20)
Cons. Round 1 - Tom Hansen (UW-Milwaukee) received a bye (Bye)
Cons. Round 2 - Joe Norton (North Central College) won by decision over Tom Hansen (UW-Milwaukee) (Dec 8-1)

Silver 149 - Alex Mor
Champ. Round 1 - Jake Sandborn (North Central College) won by pin over Alex Mor (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 3:47)
Cons. Round 1 - Alex Mor (UW-Milwaukee) won by pin over Craig Schank (UW-Whitewater) (Pin 1:47)
Cons. Round 2 - Alex Mor (UW-Milwaukee) won by decision over John Dangles (UW-Oshkosh) (Dec 3-1)
Cons. Round 3 - Anthony Azarian (un) (Harper College) won by pin over Alex Mor (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 0:27)

Silver 165 - Mike Huth
Champ. Round 1 - Chris Hermann (Rochester Community & Tech College) won by major decision over Mike Huth (UW-Milwaukee) (Maj 15-3)
Cons. Round 1 - Andrew Eastlick (UW-Whitewater) won by tech fall over Mike Huth (UW-Milwaukee) (TF 19-4)

Silver 174 - Dan Wesley
Champ. Round 1 - Curtis Iverson (un) (UW-Lacrosse) won by pin over Dan Wesley (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 4:28)
Cons. Round 1 - Miles Marshall (Rochester Community & Tech College) won by pin over Dan Wesley (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 0:26)

Silver 197 - Tanner Vanden Huevel
Champ. Round 1 - Tanner Vanden Huevel (UW-Milwaukee) received a bye (Bye)
Quarterfinal - Jon Treml (UW-Parkside) won by pin over Tanner Vanden Huevel (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 2:55)
Cons. Round 2 - Jeff Rahe (Rochester Community & Tech College) won by decision over Tanner Vanden Huevel (UW-Milwaukee) (Dec 11-5)

Gold 141 - Nicolas Tadeo
Champ. Round 1 - Nicolas Tadeo (UW-Milwaukee) received a bye (Bye)
Champ. Round 2 - Mike Ryan (un) (Northern Illinois University) won by pin over Nicolas Tadeo (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 4:34)
Cons. Round 2 - Vince Castilo (un) (Northern Illinois University) won by major decision over Nicolas Tadeo (UW-Milwaukee) (Maj 12-3)

Gold 165 - Darin Kwilinski
Champ. Round 1 - Darin Kwilinski (UW-Milwaukee) received a bye (Bye)
Champ. Round 2 - Ray Richardson (Harper College) won by major decision over Darin Kwilinski (UW-Milwaukee) (Maj 12-2)
Cons. Round 2 - Darin Kwilinski (UW-Milwaukee) received a bye (Bye)
Cons. Round 3 - Josh Ison (UW-Stevens Point) won by pin over Darin Kwilinski (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 2:30)

Gold 174 - Jeremy Gee
Champ. Round 1 - Alex Knipp (un) (Harper College) won by decision over Jeremy Gee (UW-Milwaukee) (Dec 11-6)
Cons. Round 1 - Jeremy Gee (UW-Milwaukee) received a bye (Bye)
Cons. Round 2 - Zach Menne (UW-Madison) won by pin over Jeremy Gee (UW-Milwaukee) (Pin 0:45)