The Apprentice School 28 v East Carolina University 22       California State University - Fresno 41 v California State University - San Marcos 18       The Apprentice School 27 v James Madison University 18       The Apprentice School 44 v College of William & Mary 0       The Apprentice School 39 v Longwood University 12       The Apprentice School 27 v Penn State - Mont Alto 24       California State University - Fresno 15 v California State University - San Marcos 6       California State University - Fresno 47 v California State University - San Marcos 18       University of Akron 56 v Penn State - Beaver 3       University of Akron 43 v The Ohio State University 15       

GVSU Lakers Win Third Straight Title

03/19/2008 -

The Grand Valley State University Wrestling Team returned from Lakeland, Florida with its third consecutive NCWA National Championship. This is the fifth title for the Lakers in the 11 year history of the NCWA.
The Lakers earned ten All-American honors led by two National Champions. Joe Mendez won his second consecutive title with a fall in the finals at 141 pounds. He won a title last year at 133 and was a runner-up in 2006 giving him three All-American honors.

Freshman Jordan Richardson won the 165 pound title with a gutsy performance, defeating Michael Gorman of the US Military Academy Prep School in the finals.

The third Laker finalist, senior Russell Correll, was the runner-up at 157. Correll finishes his career as a four-time national qualifier and three-time All-American.

Placing third for the Lakers were Kelvin Miller (197) and Joe Kuzmicz (235). This is the second All-American honor for Miller who placed third at 235 in 2007.

Also earning All-American honors for the Lakers were Richard Doherty (4th at 174), Phil Lanni (7th at 184), Daryn Whitefield (4th at 197), Ryan Lancaster (7th at 235), and Corey Melinn (5th at 285). Each of these wrestlers earned their first All-American honor.

Grand Valley brought 18 wrestlers total to the National Tournament. The following Lakers won at least one match in Lakeland to contribute to the championship, Michael Donovan (125), Dan Schaaf (133), Nick Legato (149), Jeff Skinner (165), David Sponhauer (174), John Stariha (184), and Matt McHugh (285). Bray Frey also qualified for the National Tournament at 141 but was unable to compete due to injury.