2015 West Coast Conference       NCWA Great Plains Conf.       Southwest Conference       Great Lakes Conference       NW Region       NCWA NEC Championships       Southeast Conference       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       Glendale Community College 39 v University of California - Merced 4       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       

Marion Military Dominates the Brawl in the Boro

11/17/2009 -

Seven NCWA institutions gathered at the site of the 2009 NCWA National Duals for the annual MTSU Brawl in the Boro on November 14th, 2009. The tournament featured top seeded Marion Military Institute and Middle Tennessee State University in Pool Round-Robin matches. Pool A consisted of MTSU, the University of Alabama, Mercer University, and a combination B-squad of MMI & MTSU wrestlers. Pool B consisted of MMI, Kennesaw State University, the University of Texas at Arlington, and Tennessee Temple University.

Many of the matches were close right down to the heavyweight match, most notably a win by Kennesaw State over UT-Arlington 33-30 with a pin by former NCWA Runner-up Derryl Cloer over Pierre Jax. Kennesaw also won a close match vs. Tennesee Temple earlier in the day 21-19. These close matches gave the Fighting Owls confidence in the 3rd place match with another late win to secure a victory over the University of Alabama 28-19.

Marion Military and MTSU went 3-0 in round-robin matches to meet up in the championship match. A week prior, MMI had defeated MTSU 49-9, although several matches were contested closely. This match proved no different as MMI scored 1-pt decisions in the 125 & 133 matches before amassing a 46 pt lead prior to the 235 weight class. MTSU forfeited at 184 and 197 due the absence of starters Anthony Pierce (2x NCWA Qualifier) and Isaiah Bradley ('09 All-American). Bradley & Magee had split their two matches at UCF the week before both winning 4-1 decisions. The championship final ended at a score of 50-4. Marion once again has proved to be quite the formidable opponent.

Final Match Scores:

125 Terence Jones (MMI) dec Hunter Adcock (MT) 8-7
133 Donald Washington (MMI) dec Tony Trulick (MT) 6-5
141 Brandon Westerman (MMI) pin Josh Goldberg (MT) 1:21
149 Jay Mitchell (MMI) pin Juan Figueroa (MT) 3:55
157 Aaron Iriarte (MMI) mdec Dillon Kotsch (MT) 16-5
165 Joe Salvatore (MMI) mdec Randall Jennings (MT) 14-3
174 Cody Bollinger (MMI) pin Nick Appleby (MT) 4:28
184 Angelo Bollette (MMI) by FF
197 Greg Magee (MMI) by FF
235 Shane Inman (MT) mdec Matt Arrington (MMI) 12-2
285 Michael Mullen (MMI) pin Jerrold Bumphus (MT) 0:38

1st place: Marion Military Institute (4-0)
2nd place: Middle Tennessee State University (3-1)
3rd place: Kennesaw State University (3-1)
4th place: University of Alabama (2-2)
5th place: University of Texas at Arlington (2-2)
6th place: Mercer University (2-2)
7th place: Tennessee Temple University (1-3)