The Apprentice School 50 v Towson State University 9       Rowan College at Gloucester County 27 v The Apprentice School 11       United States Naval Academy Prep 27 v The Apprentice School 21       Alfred State College 28 v Penn College 22       University of Delaware 40 v Widener University 9       Penn State - Mont Alto 33 v Widener University 12       Ted Reese Invitational       Columbia Basin College 42 v University of Idaho 12       Highline College 43 v South Puget Sound Community College 12       Davenport University 26 v Grand Valley State University 28       

Marion Wrestlers Prepare for Southeastern Conference Tournament

02/25/2011 -

Marion, AL - The Marion Military Institute wrestlers will travel to Jacksonville, Florida this weekend to compete in the National Collegiate Wrestling Association's (NCWA) Southeastern Conference Tournament. Flagler Palm Coast High School will host the tournament, a qualifying event for the NCWA National Tournament. The address for the event is 5500 East Highway 100, Palm Coast, Florida 32164. Twenty-four schools are members of the SEC and besides MMI, include: Auburn University, University of Alabama, Florida A&M University, Florida Atlantic University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Florida Institute of Technology, Florida International University, Florida State University, Sante Fe Community College, University of Central Florida, University of Florida, University of North Florida, University of South Florida, University of West Florida, Columbus State University, Emory University, Georgia Southern University, Georgia Tech, Gordon College, Kennesaw State University, Mercer University, North Georgia College and State University, and the University of Georgia.

Three southeastern schools are curently ranked in the Top Ten of the NCWA Team Point Leaders. They are the University of Central Florida in 2nd place, Mercer University in 7th place and Marion Military Institute in 8th place. Fourteen MMI wrestlers have earned Top 30 rankings in their respective weight classes. They are: DeAnthony Smith (29th; 125-lb.), Xenepher Austin (8th; 133-lb.), Austin Souders (19th; 133-lb.), Trevor Bailey (3rd; 141-lb.), Brandon Westerman (7th; 141-lb.), Michael Giorgio (6th; 149-lb.), Josh McCoy (3rd; 157-lb.), Jayce Crowder (16th; 165-lb.), Marvin Lawrence, Jr. (29th; 165-lb.), Kevin Koch (28th; 174-lb.), Mark Howard (9th; 184-lb.), Joel Wyman (13th; 235-lb.), and Michael Mullen (15th; 285-lb.).